Dentists, General salary by state
The median dentists, general in the United States earned $172,790 a year in 2024, about $83.07 an hour. Across the 46 states reporting the occupation, pay runs from $230,990 in Vermont down to $125,180 in Nevada.
Healthcare practitioners SOC 29-1021
What the spread means
Pay for this occupation varies enormously by location. Vermont pays roughly 1.8 times what Nevada does for the same job title, which is a wider gap than most occupations show and usually points to differences in licensing, unionisation or the industries that employ these workers in each state.
A high median is not automatically a better deal. States that pay well for this work are frequently expensive places to live, and the same salary buys very different amounts of housing and energy depending on where it is earned. The state pages linked below carry electricity, gas and housing figures for the same places.
Highest paying states
Lowest paying states
Where the work is concentrated
Location quotient compares how common an occupation is in a state against how common it is nationally. A value of 2 means the state employs twice the national share of these workers. It is a better guide to where the jobs actually are than the raw count, which mostly tracks state population.
| State | Concentration | Employed | Median pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| Connecticut | 1.49× | 1,840 | $193,230 |
| South Carolina | 1.39× | 2,320 | $158,460 |
| Virginia | 1.3× | 3,890 | $182,570 |
| Montana | 1.27× | 480 | $159,480 |
| Arizona | 1.25× | 2,930 | $206,660 |
Every state
| # | State | Median salary | Hourly | 10th pct | 90th pct | Employed | vs U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Vermont | $230,990 | $111.05 | $130,800 | not reported | 220 | + 33.7% |
| 2 | Alaska | $230,830 | $110.98 | $107,530 | not reported | 260 | + 33.6% |
| 3 | Delaware | $224,690 | $108.02 | $123,450 | not reported | 360 | + 30% |
| 4 | Minnesota | $209,820 | $100.87 | $161,980 | not reported | 2,500 | + 21.4% |
| 5 | Maine | $208,860 | $100.42 | $155,030 | not reported | 450 | + 20.9% |
| 6 | Arizona | $206,660 | $99.36 | $59,990 | not reported | 2,930 | + 19.6% |
| 7 | Wisconsin | $206,650 | $99.35 | $124,450 | not reported | 2,160 | + 19.6% |
| 8 | North Dakota | $201,280 | $96.77 | $132,600 | not reported | 210 | + 16.5% |
| 9 | Washington | $197,950 | $95.17 | $123,830 | not reported | 3,100 | + 14.6% |
| 10 | Georgia | $195,820 | $94.14 | $69,990 | not reported | 3,260 | + 13.3% |
| 11 | Connecticut | $193,230 | $92.90 | $104,000 | not reported | 1,840 | + 11.8% |
| 12 | North Carolina | $191,280 | $91.96 | $103,710 | not reported | 4,410 | + 10.7% |
| 13 | Maryland | $189,330 | $91.03 | $104,000 | not reported | 2,190 | + 9.6% |
| 14 | Oregon | $185,790 | $89.32 | $103,510 | not reported | 1,180 | + 7.5% |
| 15 | Virginia | $182,570 | $87.77 | $89,940 | not reported | 3,890 | + 5.7% |
| 16 | Illinois | $180,420 | $86.74 | $82,960 | not reported | 4,820 | + 4.4% |
| 17 | Louisiana | $179,600 | $86.35 | $80,900 | not reported | 1,140 | + 3.9% |
| 18 | California | $178,540 | $85.84 | $97,280 | not reported | 14,760 | + 3.3% |
| 19 | Michigan | $177,080 | $85.13 | $97,200 | not reported | 3,920 | + 2.5% |
| 20 | Indiana | $176,990 | $85.09 | $102,650 | not reported | 2,700 | + 2.4% |
| 21 | Iowa | $174,990 | $84.13 | $83,860 | not reported | 850 | + 1.3% |
| 22 | Arkansas | $172,490 | $82.93 | $82,920 | not reported | 990 | -0.2% |
| 23 | New Mexico | $171,730 | $82.56 | $120,620 | not reported | 660 | -0.6% |
| 24 | Kansas | $170,090 | $81.78 | $67,610 | not reported | 1,240 | -1.6% |
| 25 | Pennsylvania | $168,740 | $81.13 | $75,990 | not reported | 3,210 | -2.3% |
| 26 | Nebraska | $168,110 | $80.82 | $75,410 | not reported | 740 | -2.7% |
| 27 | Idaho | $166,560 | $80.08 | $124,760 | $231,900 | 690 | -3.6% |
| 28 | New York | $164,060 | $78.87 | $64,970 | not reported | 7,460 | -5.1% |
| 29 | Florida | $162,870 | $78.30 | $94,370 | not reported | 8,400 | -5.7% |
| 30 | South Dakota | $162,860 | $78.30 | $96,800 | not reported | 270 | -5.7% |
| 31 | New Hampshire | $162,040 | $77.90 | $95,990 | not reported | 460 | -6.2% |
| 32 | Oklahoma | $161,780 | $77.78 | $73,260 | not reported | 1,150 | -6.4% |
| 33 | New Jersey | $159,860 | $76.86 | $63,900 | not reported | 2,710 | -7.5% |
| 34 | Montana | $159,480 | $76.67 | $108,890 | not reported | 480 | -7.7% |
| 35 | South Carolina | $158,460 | $76.19 | $62,220 | not reported | 2,320 | -8.3% |
| 36 | Texas | $157,370 | $75.66 | $95,680 | not reported | 7,690 | -8.9% |
| 37 | Ohio | $155,570 | $74.79 | $63,640 | not reported | 2,990 | -10% |
| 38 | Tennessee | $154,460 | $74.26 | $76,650 | not reported | 1,470 | -10.6% |
| 39 | West Virginia | $147,440 | $70.88 | $65,490 | not reported | 400 | -14.7% |
| 40 | Hawaii | $139,990 | $67.30 | $55,580 | $204,760 | 570 | -19% |
| 41 | Colorado | $136,260 | $65.51 | $64,440 | $233,650 | 2,330 | -21.1% |
| 42 | Kentucky | $135,550 | $65.17 | $68,280 | not reported | 910 | -21.6% |
| 43 | Utah | $132,270 | $63.59 | $77,220 | not reported | 740 | -23.5% |
| 44 | Mississippi | $128,570 | $61.81 | $62,400 | not reported | 830 | -25.6% |
| 45 | Wyoming | $126,860 | $60.99 | $55,500 | not reported | 260 | -26.6% |
| 46 | Nevada | $125,180 | $60.18 | $92,110 | $213,080 | 1,040 | -27.6% |
Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2024 state estimates. Retrieved 2026-09-09. Figures cover wage and salary workers and exclude the self-employed. Methodology
Frequently asked questions
How much does a dentists, general make?
The national median is $172,790 a year, or about $83.07 an hour, as of the 2024 Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics survey. Half of workers in the occupation earn more than that and half earn less.
Which state pays dentists, generals the most?
Vermont, at a median of $230,990. Alaska ($230,830) and Delaware ($224,690) follow. Pay that looks high often reflects a high cost of living rather than a better deal, so it is worth reading alongside what housing and energy cost in the same state.
How many people work as dentists, generals?
About 107,160 across the states reporting the occupation, against a national estimate of 113,490.
Is this figure a salary or an hourly rate?
Both are published. BLS surveys employers rather than workers, so these are wages paid rather than wages reported by employees, and they exclude self-employed people. Annual figures for occupations that are typically part-time or seasonal should be read with that in mind.